BBB National Programs Archive

National Advertising Review Board Welcomes 21 New Members From Nation’s Top Companies, Ad Agencies, Universities

New York, NY –  March 11, 2013  – The National Advertising Review Board (NARB)  has named 21 new members to the advertising industry’s only peer-review process – a body that serves to assure that advertising claims are truthful and accurate. NARB members are selected for their standing in the industry. Their volunteer service to NARB is an invaluable component of advertising industry self-regulation.

Five-member NARB panels are convened to review advertising claims following the appeal of a decision by the National Advertising Division (NAD) or Children’s Advertising Review Unit (CARU).

Panelists convene at the New York office of the Advertising Self-Regulatory Council (ASRC), hear evidence presented by witnesses, examine substantiation and determine whether claims made by national advertisers are truthful and accurate.

“We applaud these volunteers, each of whom is an expert in his or her own right, and we appreciate the companies that make such volunteer service possible,” said Howard Bell, Chairman, NARB.

“The NARB peer-review process – in place since 1971 – is representative of the advertising industry’s commitment to a marketplace that operates on the level, where honest advertisers won’t lose to competitors who skirt or ignore truth and accuracy, and where consumers can trust the advertising claims they read, see or hear,” added C. Lee Peeler, President and CEO, Advertising Self-Regulatory Council and Executive Vice-President, Council of Better Business Bureaus.

NARB Class of 2013

Darlene AbubakarSenior Director
National Advertising and Marketing Programs
Amtrak-National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Randy Berkowitz

Vice President, Market Research

Combe Incorporated

Anca Cornis-Pop

Global Marketing Counsel

Avon Products, Inc.

Michael Donnelly

SVP, Group Head Global Digital Marketing

MasterCard Worldwide

Javier Farfan

Senior Director, Cultural Branding

PepsiCo Beverages America

Linda Gharib

SVP, Digital Marketing

Citibank, N.A.

Jack Haber

VP Global Advertising & Digital CP
Colgate Palmolive

Adonis Hoffman

Adjunct Professor

Georgetown University

Matt Kaudy

Vice President, Marketing

NASA Federal Credit Union

Thomas Kinnear

Professor of Entrepreneurial Studies, Executive Director
Samuel Zell & Robert H. Lurie Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies, University of Michigan

 Robin Korman

SVP, Loyalty Marketing

Wyndham Worldwide Corporation

Elliot Lum

Vice President, Strategic Marketing

Columbia Records

Division of Sony Music

Michael McGough

General Manager, Busch Media Group

Anheuser-Busch InBev

Gregory Pabst

Program Director – Advertising

University of San Francisco

Tony Pace

Chief Marketing Officer

Subway Franchisee

Advertising Fund Trust

Meridyth Park

SVP, Brand Strategy

Bank of America

Barb Scherer

Senior Vice President/Regional Marketing Director, Florida

Fifth Third Bank

Chris Sorgie

Corporate VP, Advertising

New York Life Insurance Company

Annette Stover

Global Chief of Staff

Havas Worldwide

Andrew Swank

SVP, Director of Account Management

Cramer-Krasselt/New York

Jan Wicks

Professor & Graduate Coordinator

University of Arkansas